top of page

Conservation Commission (and Subcommittees)

Commission Members

Nigel G. Hicks-Tibbles, Chair (2025)

Russ Barrett, Vice-Chair (2026) 

Deborah Zuaro, Secretary (2027)

David Mears, Member (2028)

Ruth Ruttenberg, Member (2025)

Jeremy Whalen, Member (2028)

Mariela Swiech, Member (2026)

The NCC meets on the 4th Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m.


Please email for more information about the commission.

The Northfield Conservation Commission (NCC) serves in an advisory capacity along with the town legislative and planning bodies to promote stewardship of natural and cultural resources in Northfield by:

  • Serving as an educational resource to identify and protect Northfield's natural resources;

  • Supporting the Northfield Town Plan;

  • Safeguarding the Dog River and associated tributaries;

  • Promoting recreational activities that create a healthy and sustainable community for present and future generations; and

  • Providing guidance to the municipality and private land owners for sustainable land use management applications.

  • Northfield Conservation Commission members are appointed by the Town Select Board and serve four (4) year terms.

On Sunday, September 11, 2022, the Northfield Conservation Commission hosted a symposium entitled "The Dog River: Now and in the Future."  The symposium included the three presentations listed below.  You can view the PowerPoint slides by clicking the underlined titles below.

"River Dynamics: Understanding the Science of River Processes and Flooding,"

Gretchen Alexander, River Scientist, Vermont Rivers Program

"Dog River: Big trout to no trout* (*A rough estimate)"

Will Eldridge, Aquatic Habitat Biologist, Vermont Fish & Wildlife

"Winooski River Tactical Basin Planning Process: Dog River"

Vermont Water Investment Division

Conservation Commission Agendas & Minutes

Conservation Commission Facebook Page

Emerald Ash Borer Case Study - Northfield, Vermont


The Dog River Park Committee meets the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 5:30 p.m.  The members are Bonnie Kirn Donahue (Chair), Simon Pearish (Vice-Chair), Kim Adams, Russ Barrett, and Fred Nadon.

Dog River Park Committee Agendas & Minutes


Dog River Park Maintenance Plan (2022)

Dog River Park Committee Bylaws


The Town Forest Stewardship Committee (TFSC) meets the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m.  The members are Jeremy Whalen (Chair), Russ Barrett, Colin Blackmon, Ray Crowder, Virginia Kunkel, Nelson Hoffman, and Andrew Padilla.

Town Forest Stewardship Committee Agendas & Minutes

Town Forest Stewardship Plan (2019)


bottom of page