Following the effective date of Town/Village Merger on July 1, 2014, the legislative body of Northfield, Vermont is the Town Select Board, whose members are elected to two- or three-year terms by Australian Ballot on Town Meeting Day.

The Town Select Board's primary responsibilities include overseeing the operations of the Northfield Emergency Services (Fire, Police, and Ambulance), the Northfield Highway Department, and the Northfield Utility Departments (Water, Sewer, and Electric).  The Town Select Board also is responsible for the recreational facilities in Northfield.

The current members of the Northfield Town Select Board are:

K. David Maxwell, Chair

Kenneth W. Goslant

Julie H. Goodrich, Vice-Chair

Nathaniel Miller

Lynn Doney


In 2019, the Northfield Select Board will hold its regular meetings on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the  Community Room located in the Brown Public Library (93 South Main Street).  Please click here for the full 2019 regular meeting schedule.

To view agendas for upcoming Town Select Board regular and special meetings, please click here for the "Current Notices" webpage.  Minutes for past meetings (2017, 2018, and 2019) also can be accessed from this same webpage.  Minutes for earlier meetings are available at the Town Clerk's Office.

Please contact the Town Manager's Office at 485-6121 by 4:00 p.m. the Thursday prior to the next regular meeting if you or your group would like to be scheduled under "Public Participation."  Please click here to see the "Procedures for Public Participation" adopted by the Town Select Board (and Village Trustees) in July 2005.

To contact the Town Select Board with any questions, comments, feedback, etc., you can either email them individually (click links above) or as a group through